Arthur Hamlin, May 2, 2018

Statutory definition of MHP is a property owned by one person that contains more than two mobile homes or mobile home lots. Exceptions for seasonal properties and farm worker housing.

Vermont DHCD administers the MHP Law (Title 10 Chapter 153) which includes lease requirements, annual registration, notice of intent to sell or close a park, lot rent increases and mediation, and habitability. and has authority to enforce via administrative penalties legal action or referral to AG's office.

Major MHP law enacted in 1988 provided right to purchase park and notice of closure due to tenuous situation of owning a home and renting the land underneath it, warranty of habitability added in 1994. DHCD has adopted Housing Division Rules, most recently amended in 2016.

2015 Census data estimated Vermont has 18,860 MHs

- Mobile homes equal 7.4% of housing units in Vermont
- Approx. 6,700 in MHPs equals 36% of mobile homes

In 2017 there were 241 registered MHPs with 7,126 total lots

- MHP lots decreasing gradually +/- two percent over ten years
- Two parks, with 11 and 6 lots each, closed due to TS Irene
- Eight small parks (28 total lots) closed by park owners since 2008

Vacant MHP lots less than 4% until 2010, increased to about 5% since

- TS Irene in 2011 destroyed 125+ MH in parks
- 46 MHP lots were discontinued after TS Irene, including the parks that closed

Median lot rent increases closely match change in CPI Housing

- Average 2.4% annually
- 2017 state median = \$334 per month

MHs owned by park owners increased from 6.2% to 9.1% since 2010

- MHs owned by leaseholders decreased from 93.1% to 90.3%
- 98% of MHs in nonprofit and co-op MHPs are leaseholder owned

Nine MHPs converted to cooperative (resident) ownership since 2011

- 60 parks owned by nonprofits and co-ops (13 co-op, 47 nonprofit)
- 3 MHPs purchased by nonprofits since 2007

Financing for MHPs purchase and improvements not readily available

• Government grants and loans competitive, scarce resource

HUD Installation and foundation requirements implemented in May of 2016

- Frost protected slab or piers below frost usually required
- Applies only to new MH homes on their first set up for occupancy
- Increased cost to home buyer

ANR Above Ground Fuel Storage Tank rules amended in August 2017

- Inspections every three years or when tank/owner/fuel company change
- Red tagged (no fill) if tank is unsafe
- Grants up to \$2,000 available for household under \$65,000 income